HomeStampsAustraliaAustralian Antarctic Territory

Australian Antarctic Territory stamps & postal collectibles

The Australian Antarctic Territory is a huge swathe of the Antarctic continent that was claimed by Australia in 1933, and began issuing its own postage stamps (believe it or not) in 1957. The AAT continues its postal issues despite the Antarctic Treaty of 1961 which refuses to recognize any territorial claims in Antarctica. (The AAT is recognized by a few countries, but not by others; the territorial situation in Antarctica remains controversial and somewhat confusing, and Australia isn’t the only entity to issue postage stamps there.)

The stamps of the Australian Antarctic Territory are valid for use anywhere in Australia and its various territories and dependencies. There are, of course, no towns in the traditional sense in the AAT (or anywhere else on the polar continent), so the mail if actually postmarked there comes from one of the scientific research bases.

AAT postage stamps feature Antarctica-related subjects — blue and white are popular colors. Because of the unusual nature of these stamps, and the romance of the windswept emptiness of Antarctica, many collectors are drawn to the stamps of this territory as well as the various maximum cards, minisheets, and interesting covers (and FDCs) that come from the AAT. There are even joint-issue stamps from the AAT (with the USSR).

Come back often to see the newest selection of Australian Antarctic Territory stamps. New stamps are issued yearly, and new listings are added here daily.

Australian Antarctic Territory stamps available now on eBay

eBay logoMegaMinistore finds all the best Australian Antarctic Territory stamps listings on eBay, from a number of categories and sellers. You will find a better selection of items here than on eBay itself thanks to our intelligent technology which discovers items in unrelated categories and weeds out irrelevant listings. We aim to not only show you many more great items than you would otherwise find, but also to give MegaMinistore users a valuable advantage over rival bidders and buyers.

Shop on MegaMinistore, then buy on eBay! Bookmark this page to see frequently-added new listings. The top Australian Antarctic Territory stamps offers from eBay located by MegaMinistore are listed below; these listings were updated just now. Click an item to buy, bid or see full details on eBay.

Show more